Asset Protection Society

Home California Homestead Exemption

California offers a homestead exemption ranging from $50,000 to $150,000 depending on the status of the individuals living in the homestead with the judgment debtor.  For an individual the exemption is $50,000; $75,000 for married couples.  To qualify for the $150,000 exemption the debtor or spouse, residing in the homestead, must be 65 years of age or older or physically or mentally disabled and unable to engage in gainful employment.  If the debtor is 55 years of age or older with a gross annual income of not more than $15,000 or married with a combined gross annual income of not more than $20,000 the exemption is also $150,000.  To see this statute, please click here.